Mark Perzel

Host of The Book Club @ 91.7

Mark Perzel hosts The Book Club @ 91.7 Saturday mornings at 7:00 am. 

In addition, he can be heard weekday evenings hosting classical music on 90.9 WGUC.  He is also known throughout the public radio industry for inventive, award-winning holiday programs like Tunes from the Crypt, Tunes from the Crypt Goes to the Movies, Feast for the Ears, and Love Greetings.

Mark has worked in the radio industry for more than thirty years. He began in the business when he was a teenager in Charlotte, North Carolina, volunteering for a public radio station.   He attended the University of Cincinnati College Conservatory of Music, majoring in broadcasting and minoring in violin performance.

He has performed speaking parts with performing organizations throughout the tri-state including the Cincinnati Symphony Orchestra, Carnegie Opera Theatre, and the Linton Chamber Music Series, and done voiceover work for numerous commercials and industrial videos.

Ways to Connect

  Oceans 11 meets The Breakfast Club in Don't Get Caught, an entertaining, fast-paced debut by Kurt Dinan filled with pranks and cons that will keep readers on their toes, never sure who's pulling the strings or what's coming next. Let the prank war begin!

  Lise Tewes, Children's Services Coordinator for the Kenton County Public Library's Erlanger Branch, talks about their April 30 event celebrating the 20th Anniversary of Dia, which celebrates children and books around the world.

In her collection of comedic essays, Miss Fortune: Fresh Perspectives on Having It All from Someone Who Is Not Okay, actress Lauren Weedman turns a piercingly observant, darkly funny lens on the ways her own life is not okay.

Empty Places by Kathy Wiechman is a beautifully-written and deeply-felt coming-of-age novel set in 1932's Harlan County, Kentucky, where times are tough in the mining community.

In the tradition of Shadow Divers, Randall Peffer's Where Divers Dare is the gripping true account of the search for German U-boat U-550, the last unfound, diveable wreck of a U-boat off the United States coast, and the battle in which it was sunk.

Julie Montgomery, executive director of Linton Chamber Music, previews their Transcending Time concerts happening April 17 and 18.

Mark Tompkins' The Last Days of Magic introduces us to unforgettable characters who grapple with quests for power, human frailty, and the longing for knowledge that has been made taboo.

From Sally Denton, bestselling coauthor of The Money and the Power comes The Profiteers: Bechtel and the Men Who Built the World, the inside story of the Bechtel family and the empire they’ve controlled since the construction of the Hoover Dam.

Speaking frankly about issues ranging from turning oneself into an authentic, compelling character to exposing hard truths, twenty of America’s bestselling memoirists share their innermost thoughts and hard-earned writing tips with veteran author Meredith Maran in Why We Write About Ourselves.

Lisa Soper from the Public Library of Cincinnati and Hamilton County talks about their summer volunteer program and how adults and teens can get involved.

Pages