Mark Perzel

Host of The Book Club @ 91.7

Mark Perzel hosts The Book Club @ 91.7 Saturday mornings at 7:00 am. 

In addition, he can be heard weekday evenings hosting classical music on 90.9 WGUC.  He is also known throughout the public radio industry for inventive, award-winning holiday programs like Tunes from the Crypt, Tunes from the Crypt Goes to the Movies, Feast for the Ears, and Love Greetings.

Mark has worked in the radio industry for more than thirty years. He began in the business when he was a teenager in Charlotte, North Carolina, volunteering for a public radio station.   He attended the University of Cincinnati College Conservatory of Music, majoring in broadcasting and minoring in violin performance.

He has performed speaking parts with performing organizations throughout the tri-state including the Cincinnati Symphony Orchestra, Carnegie Opera Theatre, and the Linton Chamber Music Series, and done voiceover work for numerous commercials and industrial videos.

Ways to Connect

  Find out about the performance of the Scottish fantasy Brigadoon now through May 22 at The Covedale Center for the Performing Arts.

  Matthias Hollwich invites us to take everything we associate with aging—the loss of freedom and vitality, the cold and sterile nursing homes, the boredom—and throw it out the window.

New Aging: Live Smarter Now to Live Better Forever will inspire you and your loved ones to live smarter today so you can live better tomorrow.

  Most people probably don't wax romantic about the grammar lessons or teachers of yore, yet most will still love Between You and Me, the hilarious and delightful memoir by the longtime New Yorker copy editor, Mary Norris.

  Lise Tewes, Children's Services Coordinator for the Kenton County Public Library's Erlanger Branch, talks about their April 30 event celebrating the 20th Anniversary of Dia, which celebrates children and books around the world.

In her collection of comedic essays, Miss Fortune: Fresh Perspectives on Having It All from Someone Who Is Not Okay, actress Lauren Weedman turns a piercingly observant, darkly funny lens on the ways her own life is not okay.

In the tradition of Shadow Divers, Randall Peffer's Where Divers Dare is the gripping true account of the search for German U-boat U-550, the last unfound, diveable wreck of a U-boat off the United States coast, and the battle in which it was sunk.

Julie Montgomery, executive director of Linton Chamber Music, previews their Transcending Time concerts happening April 17 and 18.

Mark Tompkins' The Last Days of Magic introduces us to unforgettable characters who grapple with quests for power, human frailty, and the longing for knowledge that has been made taboo.

From Sally Denton, bestselling coauthor of The Money and the Power comes The Profiteers: Bechtel and the Men Who Built the World, the inside story of the Bechtel family and the empire they’ve controlled since the construction of the Hoover Dam.

Speaking frankly about issues ranging from turning oneself into an authentic, compelling character to exposing hard truths, twenty of America’s bestselling memoirists share their innermost thoughts and hard-earned writing tips with veteran author Meredith Maran in Why We Write About Ourselves.

Lisa Soper from the Public Library of Cincinnati and Hamilton County talks about their summer volunteer program and how adults and teens can get involved.

    

Margaret Luongo is associate professor of English at Miami University where she teaches creative writing and contemporary fiction.

C.J. Box: Off the Grid

Apr 1, 2016

Nate Romanowski is off the grid, recuperating from wounds and trying to deal with past crimes, when he is suddenly surrounded by a small team of elite professional special operators. They’re not there to threaten him, but to make a deal. Things are not all they seem to be in Off the Grid by C.J. Box.

David Linden: Touch

Apr 1, 2016

In Touch: The Science of Hand, Heart, and Mind, neuroscientist and bestselling author David J. Linden explores this critical interface between our bodies and the outside world, between ourselves and others.

Bookseller Audrey Bullar from Joseph Beth Booksellers Cincinnati talks about Monday's Opening Day Storytime.

  Saying Goodbye To Vietnam is a photographic memoir documenting Ken Williamson's service as an Army photographer in Vietnam in 1969. Letters between Ken and his wife, Janet, and from friends and relatives to Ken, provide a glimpse into the personal lives of two people expecting their first child while being separated by the war.

  Jan Ellison presents her novel, A Small Indiscretion. At nineteen, Annie Black trades a bleak future in a California for a London winter of drinking and abandon. Twenty years later, a photo from that distant winter in Europe arrives inexplicably in her mailbox, and brings her past and her present on a collision course.

2016 CET Action Auction

Mar 25, 2016
facebook.com/CETconnect

  Dr. O'dell Owens, medical director for the City of Cincinnati and chair of the 2016 CET Action Auction, previews this year's auction - happening April 26-30.

  In Overwatch by Matthew Betley, Logan West is a former Marine officer who answers a dead man’s ringing phone and triggers a global race against the clock that can draw the United States into a major conflict with Iran.

  From Adam Steltzner, who led the Entry, Descent, and Landing team in landing the Curiosity rover on the surface of Mars, comes a profound book, The Right Kind of Crazy: A True Story of Teamwork, Leadership, and High-Stakes Innovation, about breakthrough innovation in the face of the impossible.

  In The Girl in the Red Coat by Kate Hamer, newly single mom Beth's worst fear is realized when her eight-year-old daughter, Carmel, goes missing.

Yet, while Beth searches tirelessly for her daughter, Carmel is on a strange and harrowing journey of her own. 

  Tracy Schoster, the actor portraying Maureen Folan in Falcon Theater's production of Martin McDonaugh's "The Beauty Queen of Leenane" talks about the production, running through April 2.

  The Lost Airman by Seth Meyerowitz is the story of his grandfather, World War II American Air Force turret-gunner Staff Sergeant Arthur Meyerowitz, who was shot down over Nazi-occupied France and evaded Gestapo pursuers for more than six months before escaping to freedom.

  Set in California, France, and the Swiss Alps, The Arrangement is a sparkling, sensual novel by Ashley Warlick that explores the complexities of a marriage and the many different ways in which we love.

  Local artist Emily Moores talks about the Cincinnati 5: Artists Impacting the Community book and exhibit at Camp Washington's Wave Pool Gallery through March 26.

Books from the exhibit are available online at amazon.com.

  Part adventure, part love story, part inquiry into the mystery of the connection between humans and dogs, Debbie Mulderow's Fast into the Night is an exquisitely written memoir of a woman, her dogs, and what can happen when someone puts herself in that place between daring and doubt - and carries on.

  Suspenseful and thrilling, and featuring a compelling new hero, The Drifter is an exciting debut from Nicholas Petrie, a fresh voice in crime fiction.

  Mark Peters' Bullsh*t: A Lexicon is the handy guide to identifying and calling BS in all of its many forms, from "bunk" and "claptrap" to "applesauce" and "gobbledygook."

  Holly Doan Spraul from Wash Park Art gallery on Elm Street talks about their current exhibit, Engendering Identity: LGBTQ (and u), showing through March 26.

  For thirty years humanity has struggled - and failed - to cope with the "brilliants," the one percent of people born with remarkable gifts.

Marcus Sakey presents part 3 of the Brilliance Saga series, Written in Fire.

Pages