Thane Maynard http://wvxu.org en Next Barrows Lecture by Dr. Terese Hart http://wvxu.org/post/next-barrows-lecture-dr-terese-hart <p>The next speaker in the Cincinnati Zoo <a href="http://cincinnatizoo.org/blog/2014/02/17/2014-barrows-conservation-lecture-series-speakers-announced/" target="_blank">Barrows Lecture Series </a>is Dr. Terese Hart. Dr. Hart is the director of a<a href="http://www.lukuru.org/" target="_blank"> Lukuru Foundation </a>project that is working to create a new national park in the Democratic Republic of Congo. On Wednesday, May 28 at 7:00 PM, she will present, “The Challenges of Protecting Wildlife in the Congo.” Dr. Hart spoke with the Zoo’s Thane Maynard about her work.</p><p> Sun, 25 May 2014 12:00:00 +0000 Mark Perzel 27149 at http://wvxu.org Next Barrows Lecture by Dr. Terese Hart The Sixth Extinction http://wvxu.org/post/sixth-extinction <p>Over the last half a billion years, there have been five mass extinctions,&nbsp; when the diversity of life on earth suddenly and dramatically contracted. Scientists around the world are currently monitoring a predicted sixth extinction, which this time around, will be&nbsp; caused by us. In her book, <em><a href="http://elizabethkolbert.com/" target="_blank">The Sixth Extinction: An Unnatural History</a>, </em>author Elizabeth Kolbert describes traveling the world to document the mass extinction of species that seems to be unfolding before our eyes. She recently talked with <a href="http://cincinnatizoo.org/" target="_blank">Cincinnati Zoo’s</a> Thane Maynard about her book, and what she’s discovered. Fri, 21 Mar 2014 10:30:00 +0000 Mark Perzel 24462 at http://wvxu.org The Sixth Extinction Nick Nichols, Among Africa's Elephants http://wvxu.org/post/nick-nichols-among-africas-elephants <p></p><p> Sun, 29 Sep 2013 22:57:50 +0000 Mark Perzel 17804 at http://wvxu.org Nick Nichols, Among Africa's Elephants Rooftop Gardening Experrt Lauren Mandel http://wvxu.org/post/rooftop-gardening-experrt-lauren-mandel <p><a href="http://cincinnatizoo.org/" target="_blank">&nbsp;&nbsp;</a></p><p><a href="http://cincinnatizoo.org/" target="_blank">Cincinnati Zoo &amp; Botanical Garden</a></p><p><a href="http://cincinnatizoo.org/" target="_blank">&nbsp;</a></p><p>Director Thane Maynard talks with <a href="http://www.newsociety.com/Contributors/M/Mandel-Lauren" target="_blank">Lauren Mandel</a> about <a href="http://www.newsociety.com/Books/E/EAT-UP" target="_blank">"Eat Up,"</a> her new book on rooftop gardening.</p><p></p> Mon, 02 Sep 2013 10:30:00 +0000 Mark Perzel 16772 at http://wvxu.org Rooftop Gardening Experrt Lauren Mandel Cheetah Run 2012 http://wvxu.org/post/cheetah-run-2012 <p>Two contributors in one segment! <em>The Cincinnati Zoo&rsquo;s Thane Maynard</em> (heard Sunday mornings on Cincinnati Edition) is in The Front Row with Betsy Ross to discuss the September 2<strong> Cheetah Run</strong>, a family friendly event at the Zoo to benefit their big cat programs.</p><p>http://youtu.be/kGHmaF-qxrU</p><p></p> Sat, 11 Aug 2012 07:00:00 +0000 Betsy Ross 2207 at http://wvxu.org Cheetah Run 2012