Mike Pesca http://wvxu.org en 5 Points To Help Simplify Sunday's Super Bowl http://wvxu.org/post/5-points-help-simplify-sundays-super-bowl The chatter, hype and jargon in the weeks leading up to Sunday's Super Bowl XLVIII is more impenetrable than the Seahawk's secondary.<p>Perhaps you've heard the Seattle Seahawks have a running back who enters "Beast Mode." Maybe you've heard that the Denver Broncos' counter to Beast Mode is a defensive lineman <a href="http://sports.yahoo.com/news/from--beast-mode--to--pot-roast--to--pig---a-primer-on-super-bowl-nicknames-011914808.html">nicknamed</a> "Pot Roast."<p>Vociferously debating Beast Mode versus Pot Roast is no longer the exclusive domain of a <a href="http://www.wizards.com/Magic/Su Sun, 02 Feb 2014 10:30:00 +0000 Mike Pesca 22585 at http://wvxu.org 5 Points To Help Simplify Sunday's Super Bowl 'Fetch Clay, Make Man': Ali, Fetchit And The 'Anchor Punch' http://wvxu.org/post/fetch-clay-make-man-ali-fetchit-and-anchor-punch ---<p>Muhammad Ali's first title defense, a first-round TKO of Sonny Liston in 1965, <a href="http://life.time.com/icons/muhammad-ali-sonny-liston-and-the-phantom-punch-title-bout-1965/#1" target="_blank">propelled Ali to the status of icon</a>. In Ali's training camp before the fight was an icon from an earlier era: Lincoln Perry. He was the first African-American movie star, who went by the stage name Stepin Fetchi. Fri, 11 Oct 2013 20:52:00 +0000 Mike Pesca 18335 at http://wvxu.org 'Fetch Clay, Make Man': Ali, Fetchit And The 'Anchor Punch' What To Make Of Tiger Woods' Major-less Year http://wvxu.org/post/what-make-tiger-woods-major-less-year By the standard of normal golfing mortals, Tiger Woods has had an incredible summer. He's won multiple tournaments and millions of dollars in prize money. What he didn't do was win any of golf's four major championships, and that has led some to write off Woods' 2013 as a failure.<p>He's had the most top 10 finishes on the PGA tour this year, but for him, that's not the measure of success. Woods has won more money on the tour than any of his peers, but for him, money isn't the measure. Woods has won five tournaments this year; the next closest competitor has only two wins. Fri, 23 Aug 2013 21:49:00 +0000 Mike Pesca 16527 at http://wvxu.org What To Make Of Tiger Woods' Major-less Year Always In The Zone, Syracuse Is Hard To Beat http://wvxu.org/post/always-zone-syracuse-hard-beat Any recreational league basketball team, any police athletic league squad and every group of 8-year-olds who wear the same uniform are, on the first or second day of practice, introduced to the <a href="http://www.ducksters.com/sports/basketball/team_defense.php">2-3 zone defense</a>.<p>The coach will say, "On defense, you two short guys stay near the foul line, and you three bigger kids, you go down near the basket. Sat, 06 Apr 2013 15:46:00 +0000 Mike Pesca 11148 at http://wvxu.org Always In The Zone, Syracuse Is Hard To Beat Deflections: The Unofficial Stat That Measures Success http://wvxu.org/post/deflections-unofficial-stat-measures-success The Louisville Cardinals are among the teams dominating at this year's men's Division 1 NCAA basketball tournament, which resumes Thursday night. The team credits harassing, active defense for its wins.<p>But there's something else at work, too: deflections. The team puts a lot of stock in them, though deflections aren't an officially tracked statistic.<p>The way Mario Batali thinks about black truffles, the penchant Quentin Tarantino has for quoting Hong Kong martial arts films in his own movies — that's the way University of Louisville coach Rick Pitino talks about deflections. Thu, 28 Mar 2013 07:44:00 +0000 Mike Pesca 10817 at http://wvxu.org Deflections: The Unofficial Stat That Measures Success